Dice of Destiny
|Main Page||House Rules||Taglines|
We will be playing with the Purist Option described in the sidebar on page 29 of the main rule book. In short, this rule states that you cannot pay points to reroll a Dismal Failure, nor to force an opponent to reroll an Illustrious Success. Yes, this has the effect of making larger pools somewhat less useful, but it is truer to the Dying Earth stories in general. Coupled with a lower number of required rolls—you won’t be asked to roll every time there is a reasonable chance of failure, but hopefully only when failure would be hilarious, rather than getting you stuck in a rut—this shouldn’t make too much of an impact except in overall laugh quotient.
Other house rules will be added as they are needed, but we’ll try to cleave to the book at first to see how we like it.